Wednesday, September 25, 2013

BILL OF RIGHTS passed in Congress~ September 25, 1789

On September 25, 1789 the U.S. Congress passed twelve amendments to the United States Constitution: the Congressional Apportionment Amendment, the Congressional Compensation Amendment, and the ten that are known as the Bill of Rights. Only the Bill of Rights was ratified at the time, while the other two were proposed by James Madison but not ratified. In 1992, the Congressional Compensation Amendment was finally ratified as the 27th amendment to the Constitution.

Image &

(Note: there was no time limit placed on the 27th amendment -- unlike the Equal Rights Amendment, which was allowed to expire before the necessary number of states had ratified it.)

No comments:

Titian in the Frari (Venezia)